MEMBERS OF THE FOLLOWING COMMITTEES/COMMISSIONS ARE APPOINTED BY THE MAYOR, SUBJECT TO COMMON COUNCIL CONFIRMATION.

AIRPORT COMMISSION – Manages the Neillsville Airport. Consists of a council member, the Director of Public Works (DPW), and three citizen members. Citizen members serve on a staggered six-year rotation. Typically meets three to four times a year. Authorized by City Ordinance Section 2-4-9. Contact: DPW - 715-743-5678.

BEAUTIFICATION COMMITTEE – Beautification of the city by planning, managing and maintaining seasonal displays and selecting banners displayed throughout the city. Consists of a council member and seven other members. One-year terms. Typically meets four to six times a year – usually in spring and fall. Authorized by Council action. Contact: Cemetery Sexton/Parks Director – 715-743-7071, DPW – 715-743-5678.

BOARD OF CEMETERY COMMISSIONERS – Oversight of the Neillsville Cemetery. Consists of two council members, the City Clerk-Treasurer, and two citizen members. Members are appointed to one-year terms. Typically meets two to three times a year. Authorized by City Ordinances Sections 2-2-5 and 2-4-11. Contacts: DPW – 715-743-5678, Cemetery Sexton – 715-743-7071, City Clerk-Treasurer – 715-743-2105.

COMMISSION ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT – Advise and engage in all matters concerning industrial development and economic expansion in the city. Consists of the mayor and six other members. Other members serve on a staggered three-year rotation. Typically meets three to four times a year, but meets more frequently when needed. Authorized by City Ordinance Section 2-4-12. Contact: Mayor – 715-743-3811.

GRANTS COMMITTEE – Administration of federal block grants received by the city, and administration or the city's CDBG Housing Revolving Loan Fund. Consists of a council member, the DPW, and six citizen members. Citizen members serve on a three-year rotation. Typically meets two to three times a year. Authorized by City Ordinance Section 2-4-13. Contact: City Clerk-Treasurer – 715-743-2105.

HERITAGE DAYS COMMITTEE – Management, operation and control of the city's annual Heritage Days event held the second full weekend in July. Consists of a council member and eight other members. One-year terms. Typically meets monthly. Authorized by Council action. Contact: City Clerk-Treasurer – 715-743-2105.

HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION – Designation, regulation and recognition of historic structures, historic sites and historic districts within the City of Neillsville. Consists of a historian, a licensed real estate broker, a registered architect, a council member and three citizen members. One-year terms. Typically meets monthly. Authorized by City Ordinance Section 1-3-3. Contact: City Clerk-Treasurer – 715-743-2105.

LIBRARY BOARD – Supervision of library administration; control and custody of land, buildings, library collections, etc.; controls money expended and collected; and prepares the annual library budget. Consists of a school administrator, a council member, and five residents of the city (two of the five may be from adjoining townships). Residents serve on a staggered three-year rotation. Typically meets six to eight times a year. Authorized by Wisconsin Statutes and City Ordinance Section 2-4-2. Contact: Head Librarian – 715-743-2558.

PARKS AND RECREATION BOARD – Governs, manages, controls, improves and cares for all city-owned parks and city recreational programs. Consists of a council member and six residents of the Neillsville School District. Three-year terms. Typically meets two or three times a year. Authorized by City Ordinance Section 2-4-7. Contact: Parks Director – 715-743-7071, Recreation Director – 715-743-2400.

POLICE AND FIRE COMMISSION – Exercises exclusive jurisdiction over the hiring, promotion, discipline and termination of police officers and firefighters, appointment and discipline of Police Chief and Fire Chief. Does NOT have supervisory powers over the day-to-day operations of the police or fire departments. Consists of a council member and four citizen members. Citizen members serve on a staggered five-year rotation. Meets as needed. Authorized by Wisconsin Statutes and City Ordinance 2-4-8. Contacts: Police Chief – 715-743-3122, Fire Chief – 715-743-2105.

PLANNING COMMISSION – Maintains the city's Master Plan for physical development, including the city's extraterritorial area; reviews annexations, certified survey maps, preliminary and final plats, site plans, street vacation or dedications and naming, zoning changes, tax incremental districts, statue & memorial locations, and land use regulations; makes recommendations for public improvement programs and funding thereof. Consists of the mayor, a council member, chair of the Parks and Recreation Board, and four citizen members. The mayor, council member, and chair of the Parks and Recreation Board serve a one-year term; citizen members serve three-year terms. Typically meets three to four times a year. Authorized by Wisconsin Statutes and City Ordinance Section 2-4-6. Contact: DPW – 715-743-5678.

PROPERTY COMMITTEE – Oversees tax deeded properties accepted by the city, disposal of unused city property, major remodeling projects (except library or water & sewer utilities), and ADA compliance. Consists of three council members and two citizen members. One-year terms. Typically meets one or two times a year. Authorized by Council action. Contact: City Clerk-Treasurer – 715-743-2105, DPW – 715-743-5678.

TOURISM COMMITTEE – Reviews grant applications and recommends grants for tourism promotion creating overnight stays within the city. Consists of a council member, and a representative from each of the following: hotel/motel industry, food industry, Chamber of Commerce, Neillsville Improvement Corporation, entertainment/tavern industry. One-year terms. Meets semi-annually in March and September. Authorized by Council action. Contact: City Clerk-Treasurer – 715-743-2105.

TRANSIT COMMITTEE – Manages, oversees and coordinates the Neillsville Taxi Service with the Clark County Taxi Service, Clark County Department of Social Services. Consists of a council member and three citizen members. One-year terms. Typically meets once a year. Authorized by Council action. Contact: City Clerk-Treasurer – 715-743-2105

ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS – Hears and decides on appeals of actions made by the Zoning Administrator and special exceptions to the city zoning code and floodplain zoning regulations; authorizes, upon appeal in specific cases, variances from city zoning regulations. Consists of a council member and four citizen members. Council member serves a one-year term; citizen members serve three-year terms. Meets only as needed. Authorized by Wisconsin Statutes and City Ordinance Section 2-4-5. Contact: DPW – 715-743-5678.