City of Neillsville **Grants Committee - Regular Meeting MINUTES** Tuesday, April 22, 2025 - 4:00 pm. City Hall 106 W Division St, Neillsville WI

- Meeting called to order by Chair Natalie Erpenbach at 4:07 pm.
- On Roll Call Present: Natalie Erpenbach, Brent Shoup, Deanna Heiman, Barb Petkovsek and Jody Conner. All present.
- Motion by Heiman and second by Shoup to approve the agenda. Voice vote, all aye, motion carried.
- Motion by Heiman and second by Petkovsek to approve March 25, 2025, meeting minutes as presented. Voice vote, all aye, motion carried.
- Citizen appearances None
- Discussed grant applications and other financial assistance projects in progress.
 - Discussed four grant opportunities considered ON HOLD pending additional information or interest.
 - Noted 2 grants applied for Still pending Notification (#2024-11 EPA Rural Economies for Rural Communities submitted 10/16/24 and #2024-12 FEMA Assistance to Firefighters submitted 12/20/2024). Erpenbach emailed Jim Miller from Congressman Tom Tiffany's office to inquire if they knew anything about these grant award announcements. His reply was the review process was still in process.
 - #2023-7 Safe Routes to Schools Grant Awarded & In Process. Heiman and Shoup reported that a meeting with Luke Friemoth, Heiman, Shoup and Conner to meet with local stakeholders and then meet with Hailee Bushman (WCWRPC) had occurred. June 4th is set as a meeting date to review data gathered. School district is gathering certain data for a full week in May 2025.
 - #2024-8 Cybersecurity Grant WI Emergency Management. Grant was awarded and funded in the amount of \$42,000 with a 10 % cost share. Erpenbach has completed 2 reporting cycles (Jan and April 2025). Work is ongoing and the Technology Committee will schedule a meeting in the coming weeks.

There is a Phase II for this Cybersecurity Grant now available. Erpenbach is looking into this grant opportunity.

• New Grants in Process:

#2025-3 – Innovation Planning Grant was applied for Feb 2025 meeting and City has already been awarded \$23,500. If efficiencies of 10% or more are identified, there is a second Phase to this Innovation Grant in support of implementation of identified efficiencies. Work and first report should be complete in about 4 months (August 2025). City has hired a firm to complete the study and report.

- #2025-4 WI Dept of Health Oral Health Program. Grant for new City Water Dept. fluoride pump and other equipment. Application submitted 3/27/2025. City was awarded this grant and will proceed with equipment purchases as listed in grant application. Friemoth was called and told there is additional funding available and to see if there are other items we could apply for and receive reimbursement.
- #2025-5 Firehouse Subs Foundation. Applying for Police Department surveillance equipment. Heiman, Shoup to work with Police department on grant application. Next opportunity is July 2025.

- #2025-6 WI DNR Urban Forestry Grant. Application information is available 7/1/2025 and closes 10/1/2025. Dan Clough and Jody Conner have offered help with this grant application and work with Friemoth.
- Discussed City Tourism Grant funds (Murals Project) Simplicity Credit Union Foundation (TBD) and Clark County Community Foundation grant requests (Beautification projects).
- Erpenbach reported that she and Heiman continue to work with the NW Wisconsin Rural Partners Network group.
- Discussed Beautification Committee wanting to request funds from Listeman Foundation (By Sept 30, 2025) for additional "bridge signs" as well as improvements to Listeman Arboretum (entrance signs, railings, benches, etc.) Erpenbach noted that TIF #4 included Listeman Arboretum and improvements could be paid for from that Fund.m
- Old Business None.

[Conner leaves the meeting at 4:50 pm.]

- New Business None.
- Motion by Petkovsek and second by Shoup to adjourn. Voice vote, all aye, motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 5:05 pm.

Next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, May 27, 2025 at 4 pm at City Hall.

Jotahie KErpenback

Natalie Erpenbach, Committee Chair